Making a logo

For my photo gallery assignment I had to make a logo! My theme was Campus Perception so I toyed around with a Greek education sort of theme. Campus Perception also eludes to the fact that your campus can be whatever you imagine it to be – a prison that enslaves and entraps you or a beautifully built structure housing brilliant minds and affording amazing opportunities for an abundant future. I see UCT as buildings housing gods atop of Mount Olympus…hmmm so in my logo I wanted to convey this feeling. I see the students as soldiers going into battle everyday to succeed at every course so that they’re equipped with the knowledge needed to face the big bad world out there. So on Photoshop I took a picture of a Greek soldier with a spear and replaced his spear with a sword – toying with the idea of “the pen is mightier than the sword” or spear.

Hmmm so muscly and strong you are my hunky logo. His physical strength is a symbol for UCT student’s mental strength.  So out of Photoshop and into Illustrator I took my little man and traced him to create a logo looking image.

 

 

Now he is traced and logo looking! The pen looks like a spear more so than a pen, but I hope either way my message is conveyed! The next step was to give my logo some text. I chose my gallery’s name to be CAPE, the first two letters of Campus and first two letters of Perception. CAPE was also fitting because for the photo assignment we had to take pictures of an area in CAPE Town…yes I do think I’m smart with my catchy word play!

I chose a simple text so as not to overwhelm my image. I also wanted a smart formal look that educational institutions take on. I replaced the letter ‘A’ with a graphic I made with shapes which looks like the glorious Jameson Hall. I added a brownish colour on certain areas of my image and text to bring out the brown colour of the buildings on UCT campus. It’s not the brown of bricks, but a more natural sort of brown that allows UCT to blend in with its luscious natural setting. And with that my logo is complete.

About nicobaleng

My paradoxical love for the web is feeling immense freedom while confined to a seated position behind a desk. This is what the world wide web has to offer. Learning about the latest technological toys or playing around with programs sounds like nerds-play, but once you start exploring, the pc monitor in front of you becomes less and less intimidating. Tracked and documented I will share the journey of an average Joe like me, moving up toward achieving a black belt in web design! KAPOW!

Posted on September 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

