More hackings than hijackings!

Ever since my post about White and Black Hat hackers I promised myself not to do another post on it because while researching hackers and viruses my computer started getting viruses! The more I looked up spyware and wormholes the more virus warnings kept popping up!

However certain current affairs have persuaded me to bring the topic up again. Hackings are real! These are the 2 that have been causing a commotion.

Sony Play Station hackings disaster!

What a bad beginning of 2011 for the guys at Sony. In April round about the 16th and 17th hackers took personal information of 24.6 million Sony Online Entertainment  users. More than 20,000 credit card and bank account numbers were at risk of being stolen. Even accounts dating back to 2007 were taken which included 12700 non US credit and debit card and 10,700 direct debit records of customers in Austria, Germany, Netherlands and Spain. Sony had to restart its services such as online gaming for PS3 and PS portable.

Games like DC Universe Online had to be taken down

ANNOUNCEMENT: No jokes when I say this but as I am getting information on this topic my pc is slowing down so I’m going to stop. NO JOKES! I’m not risking a virus…go find articles yourself if you want to haha.

NEXT TOPIC PLEASE!

ANC Youth League hackings catastrophe!

A hacker from the BLAH BLAH Protest Group posted a fake message of Julius Malema’s resignation as the ANCYL President on the ANCYL’s website. Some suggest a failed April fool’s joke as the stunt was pulled on the 1st of april just before Malema was to appear on Juju’s radio show. Comments posted include:

“I have brought my party the ANC in to disrepute”

“I have disrespected my elders and have made a fool out of myself”

“I promote Nationalization even though i have no concerpt of how it works or its blacklash to the economy”

“I promote my own agenda over my country’s and parties”

“I promote the singing racist songs to promote violence and un-rest in the country”

“I do not consider youth issues”

Not surprisingly, Malema backs none of these views. The post ending in what some thought was a high note:

“It is with great hope that I step down and welcome a new era in the ANCYL, one where thought and vison inspire our country rather then racism and personal ambition destroy it.”

Than BOOM the 13th of May (badluck much?) another prank arrives this time depicting President Zuma with strings on his fingers controlling Malema like a puppet. View http://www.zoopy.com/news/1253/anc-youth-league-website-hacked-again for the video. Pictures of Malema’s matric certificate was also pasted on the site along with the headline “F you Julius Malema”. They plan to “unhack” the website and clean up the mess, but with elections drawing near people feel a greater need to air out their views about the ANCYL.

About nicobaleng

My paradoxical love for the web is feeling immense freedom while confined to a seated position behind a desk. This is what the world wide web has to offer. Learning about the latest technological toys or playing around with programs sounds like nerds-play, but once you start exploring, the pc monitor in front of you becomes less and less intimidating. Tracked and documented I will share the journey of an average Joe like me, moving up toward achieving a black belt in web design! KAPOW!

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Geeked Up. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

