Why we blog

For the My Media seminar I presented on the topic of Why we Blog written by Bonnie A. Nardi, Diane J. Schiano, Michelle Gumbrecht and Luke Swartz. The reading on the topic brought up interesting points, but I decided to do some extra research on the matter to find more updated points of view. First I asked myself why I blogged and my answers weren’t too impressive.

1.       Because the My Media seminar required me to do it for marks

2.       So I could put it on my portfolio to get into Film and Media Production

As you can tell I wasn’t overwhelmingly motivated. It got me thinking about how many blogs are out there and what these bloggers are posting about. I have my own personal blog on blogspot now, which I call Floetry, Poetry and Honesty. The title basically encompasses the things I love; poetry, rap and speaking about what’s on my mind. My reasoning for that blog was that I’ve always had writing and notes around in my cupboard somewhere so I hauled them out and put them in a blog. Better to get them out there floating in cyberspace than keep them locked up.

Basic summary of why we blog:

Bloggers are driven to document their lives, provide commentary and opinions, express deeply felt emotions, articulate ideas through writing, and form and maintain community forums.

Blogs are there to document lives. We update family and friends via blogs about journeys overseas, experiences at varsity and reports on tragic or joyful events. Blogs are photo albums and personal diaries rolled into one. An example of this you could find on David J. Hahn’s blog named Chronicles of a Cancer Patient. In it he posts about his battle with cancer and his chemotherapy treatments. He documents his life and keeps family informed about his condition.

David

Blogs provide commentary. Blog is not only about meaningless rant and chatter. People express their opinions on government, the markets and any other institute or group pissing them off. It’s a democratic self-expression without the restrictions that the media has like gate keeping in journalism. In Egypt bloggers spoke up about their grievances with their government and as a result social networking sites were banned. At times we don’t realise the impact of our criticisms on the web. The Egyptian pro democracy blog called Sandmonkey has caused quite a stir. The creator was attacked by the state police. This is his first on camera interview, as it is very dangerous to speak out about it.

Blog as catharsis! A blog most importantly is a room for venting and just dropping all your issues like a heap of crap. This involves a lot of emotional content which helps people work out their issues. Bloggers enjoy and share their obsessions and passions. An example would be that of a South African girl named Minki who claims to be a nympho. Her blog is called Between the Sheets. Minki enjoys blogging about her sex addiction and reports on her sexual ventures with sex toys.

Blog as a community forum. Blogging connects certain types of people to one another. Common interest groups can link up via blogs which encompass their passions. Lubuskihiphop.com is a website for people living in Lubuskie (a Polish country) who enjoy hip hop. For those not in Poland there is hiphopblog.com. www.slashdot.org Is a website for those sharing information aboutnew technological developments. Instapundit is a political blog. Blogs for community forums are amazing in that you can comment and reply to others as if you’re from the same neighbourhood.

Lubuski Hip Hop blog

In this video a Twilight fans expresses his intensely scary feelings about the release of New Moon. Twilight fans could be considered as a country of their own, maybe even a planet.

There are tons more reasons to blog; I’ve only scraped the surface. Blogging is new to me and I have yet to explore its many rooms. This journey will be interesting indeed.

About nicobaleng

My paradoxical love for the web is feeling immense freedom while confined to a seated position behind a desk. This is what the world wide web has to offer. Learning about the latest technological toys or playing around with programs sounds like nerds-play, but once you start exploring, the pc monitor in front of you becomes less and less intimidating. Tracked and documented I will share the journey of an average Joe like me, moving up toward achieving a black belt in web design! KAPOW!

Posted on March 17, 2011, in Geeked Up and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

